Failing to register as a sex offender in Texas is one of those crimes that can punish an individual for not doing anything. If you’re ordered by the court to register due to a deferred adjudication or past sex crime conviction, you could be penalized severely.
Dntriallaw.com details a few things about overlooking this crucial aspect below.
The Sex Offender Registry Law in Texas
Anyone convicted of any sex crime must register with the DPS or Department of Public Safety in Texas and disclose their full name, residential address, as well as other pertinent identification details. A sex offender must either register for 10 years or life, based on the specific offense committed. On the other hand, if convicted or sentenced to reportable or deferred adjudication, for the offenses below must be registered for life:
- Human trafficking
- Compelling prostitution
- Promoting or possessing child pornography
- Violent sex crimes such as Indecency with a child through touching or contact, sexual assault, and aggravated sexual assault
- Indecency with a child through contact in the event that the offender was required to register previously
- If the victim of the crime was below 17 years old and the crime involved unlawful restraint or kidnapping
- Obscenity through wholesale distribution of pornographic materials involving a minor below 18 years old
For other sex crimes, a sex offender must register with the DPS for 10 years.
Other Crucial Things to Remember about the Sex Offender Registry
As per Texas law, you have to verify your registration at specific intervals. The interval will be dependent on your specific circumstances, according to defense lawyers in Houston. If you only have one, nonviolent, deferred adjudication or conviction for a sex crime, you have to re-register annually within a month of your birth date. On the other hand, if you have several deferred adjudications or convictions related to violent sex crimes, you will have to re-register every three months or 90 days.
Be warned — you can and will be penalized if you fail to register and re-register and your punishment will be dependent on how often and how long you are required to report and register.