Although misdemeanors are not felonies, they are also not a minor offense that you can just brush aside. They could still leave a mark on your record or result in jail time and fines. For this reason, your misdemeanor attorney should be able to represent you competently and help you understand the details of your case, whether you’re the one filing the case or are being accused.
According to Utah law, misdemeanors have three classifications and are punishable by up to one year in county or local jail. Here are the different ways a person can file such charges.
Class A Misdemeanors
A class A misdemeanor is the most serious type of misdemeanor. Utah state court says that it is punishable by up to one year of jail time and a fine of up to $2,500. Some examples are:
- Property theft with a value between $500 and $1,500;
- Possession of between one ounce and one pound of marijuana;
- Assault of a police officer;
- Violation of a protective order;
- DUI with injury; and
- Negligent homicide.
Class B Misdemeanors
Class B Misdemeanors under Utah state laws are punishable by up to six months in jail and incur a fine of up to $1,000. Some examples are:
- Possession of drug paraphernalia or at most one ounce of marijuana;
- Reckless driving;
- Arrest resistance;
- Property theft of at most $500;
- Public nuisance;
- Trespassing; and
Class C Misdemeanors
Utah law states that a conviction for a class misdemeanor may result in up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $750. Here are some examples of crimes that fall under the category:
- Driving with a suspended license;
- Driving without a valid license;
- Public intoxication; and
- Disorderly conduct.
This list of misdemeanors in Utah provides you with a viable starting point in filing charges or taking action against charges filed against you. Now, your next step is to get a good lawyer to protect your rights.